October 2011

Issue No. 122

Katie Robinson, Editor

Uniform Law Commission
111 N. Wabash Ave, Suite 1010
Chicago, IL 60602
(312) 450-6600


Upcoming Meetings

  • October 28-30, 2011, Chicago, IL
    Drafting Committee on a Manufactured Housing Act
  • October 28, 2011, Chicago, IL
    ULC History Committee
  • October 29, 2011, Chicago, IL
    Legislative Council


Legislative Update

The 2011 legislative year officially ended on September 30. For the second time in the last three years, we closed the books with more than 100 enactments. We ended the year the 104 enactments. What was the last act to be enacted in 2011? That would be the Uniform Real Property Electronic Recording Act, which was signed into law in New York by Governor Andrew Cuomo on September 23, 2011. Thanks to everyone – especially the Legislative Council members and our Legislative Liaisons – who worked so hard to make this year such a success.

New Members

In South Dakota, we have two new members. Brian G. Gosch is a state representative from Rapid City, and replaces Nancy Turbak Berry. Marc S. Feinstein is a state representative from Sioux Falls, and replaces Thomas J. Deadrick.

In Georgia, Wayne Allen is our newest Associate Member. Mr. Allen is with the Office of Legislative Counsel in Atlanta, and replaces Sewell Brumby, who retired.

In Nevada, Greg Brower, a state senator from Reno, has been appointed commissioner, replacing Richard Segerblom.

In Wisconsin, we have two new commissioners. Rich Zipperer is a state senator from Pewaukee, and replaces Michael Weiden. Jim Ott is a state representative from Mequon, and replaces Mark Gundrum.

Member News

Colorado Commissioner Claire Levy recently received a certificate of appreciation from the U.S. Department of Defense for her work as a legislator for improving the lives of Colorado service members and their families. The certificate recognized Claire’s efforts as co-sponsor of House Bill 11-1219, the Uniform Military and Overseas Voters Act, which was enacted in Colorado this year (UMOVA has now been enacted in six states). The certificate of appreciation was signed by Robert L. Gordon, III, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense.

Colorado Commissioner Stanley C. Kent recently received the 2011 R. Sterling Ambler Award from the Colorado Bar Association’s Trust and Estate Section. The award recognizes outstanding contribution to the trust and estate practice in Colorado, and is given to an individual who has contributed substantially to the furtherance of Colorado law, to the education of others, and to the CBA Trust and Estate Section.

North Dakota Commissioner and University of Oklahoma College of Law Professor Owen L. Anderson has won a national award that recognizes an outstanding educator in natural resources law. The Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation recently presented Owen with the Clyde O. Martz Award for Excellence in Teaching for 2011. The Clyde O. Martz Award, established in 1993, is named after a founding father and eighth president of the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation.



Marian J. Vafiades, widow of Maine Commissioner Lewis Vafiades, passed away October 10, 2011; Marian was 88. Lew Vafiades was a commissioner from 1976 until his death in 2001, and Marian accompanied her husband to numerous annual meetings. A service in Marian’s memory was held October 14 in Bangor, Maine. Marian is survived by her daughter Susan Vafiades-Diaz and her husband Hector Diaz, one grandson, and one sister. Marian will be missed by all her friends in the Conference.